Dyslexia


I was nine or ten years old when I was diagnosed with Dyslexia. I spent years in Special Education; My reading and writing were   exactly backwards. My Parents would hold my school work up to a mirror so they could read what I wrote. Enlightened Doctors and Social Workers told my Parents that I would never amount to anything; at most I might be in a group Home somewhere, and I would never be a real productive person. I worked very hard and I had a lot of good support from my Siblings and Parents. I did learn to read and write, My handwriting still sucks, but people can sort of read it. I never did learn math though. I have a High School Diploma and three years of college. I think I have done a little better than a group home or an assisted living center. dyslexics are not slow or stupid, they can learn, A good support system and consistent instruction I think are key. The most important things the Dyslexic can do is work hard and never lose faith in himself and the abilities he has.

One thought on “Dyslexia

  1. Pingback: Overcoming Dyslexia (Guest Blog) | Crossbow Education's Blog

Leave a Reply

