Life in a Homeless Shelter


as a result of circumstances and bad Decisions, I have been living at a Salvation Army Shelter in Minnesota, since Halloween.  It has been interesting to say the least.

The first thing I learned, and this is hard for me, is to not look at anyone, I was staring into space one evening, my mind a million miles away, when this Guy exploded, accusing me of staring at Him, I wasn’t staring or looking at anyone. I am by nature a curious Person, in a Homeless Shelter, being Curious will get you hurt or killed. I have learned to avoid eye contact, I keep my head down, I try my best to be invisible. I have also learned how to sleep in a Barracks like environment, the Bunks are close together, there is no escaping the Farts, body orders and bad dreams of the other Men sleeping near me.

The only positive I have found, I am getting all sorts of material for my Novel, I just hope I live long enough to get the book Finished.

Leave a Reply

